THOUGHTS ON PRAYER: CHOCOLATE

THOUGHTS ON PRAYER: CHOCOLATE

chcolate 3

Hi, I am Debbie. I am a faithful follower of Jesus Christ and a chocoholic. If we were in a 12 step recovery program this is where you would say: “Hi, Debbie. Thank you for sharing”. I am “sharing” because I have been craving chocolate a bit more than usual over the last few days. Webster’s Dictionary would accurately describe me as someone who likes chocolate very much. I had a revelation on my return trip from the gym Saturday regarding this grand confection. But first, some background information is needed.

It is estimated chocolate, or rather the cacao bean, has been around for over 2,000 years. It has even been used for currency in South American cultures. Historically, its presence was sought for use in religious and scared services such as weddings and funerals. It was originally consumed in liquid form sans sugar of any kind. It wasn’t until it was brought to Europe that a sweetener was added. Cadbury began mass producing it thanks, in part, to the steam engine. Nestle followed suit a few years later. That was in the mid to late 1800’s. Rumor has it Casanova found this highly prized and costly delicacy beneficial to his love life.

This simple confection continues to be a much sought after food. (I believe chocolate is a food group unto itself.) Not much has changed in a few thousand years regarding our desire for this simple sweet delight in its various forms. This delicacy also has known health benefits.

However, there are ways of combating one’s obsession with chocolate-should they so choose. There is even a thread of medical evidence that being a chocoholic can be a valid addiction. There are self-help groups. There is even a group on Facebook for those who indulge their chocolate habit a little too often. There’s a lot of humor in this group. WebMD offers several steps for those who have admitted they are helpless to stop their recurring visits to the chocolate bar.

Now for my disclosure: It is a human tendency to go to any lengths to have our desires met. Some are healthy. Others…not so much. I wasn’t going to rob the nearest candy store or bakery last Saturday but, I was thinking about spending money I didn’t need to on brownies to top off a nice family dinner. I found them at an out-of-the-way bakery. They were luscious looking. They were calling to me as only chocolate can. They were also $ 7.00 for 4. I would have needed 8. What to do?  I made homemade chocolate cookies. Some were just chocolate. Others had butterscotch chips or nuts or all of the above. What did my choice provide me? Peace of mind, a reminder that I do enjoy baking, and the creative process of using ingredients in the pantry. I also love to dunk cookies in milk.

Chocolate is not an addiction I am ready to give up. However, there are others I have come to terms with the fact I am powerless over. I have submitted these to my Lord and have a few trusted friends who are aware of them. They will call me out on them. What about you? Are there cravings, compulsions that just keep you going around and around in a destructive pattern? Do you find yourself thinking of ways to obtain your desires in illegitimate ways? Methods which would hurt, hinder, or harm yourself or others? Are you telling yourself and others some version of the truth so that your dependency can remain a secret? May I encourage you to let go of the guilt and shame that is holding you back? Find a faithful friend or trusted counselor to pray with you, and hold you accountable on your journey to wholeness and freedom.  Galatians 5:1 tells us that it is for freedom that Christ has set us free, stand firm therefore, and do not submit to a yoke of slavery again.  John 8:36: So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed. Will being free from what holds you hostage be easy? No. But fight the good fight of faith (1 Timothy 6:12). Be sure to record the process of your healing. This will become your testimony. Be blessed in the name of the Lord our God who is Healer and Defender. He will fight for you!

 

~dph~

 

Leave a Reply

