Thoughts on Prayer: I Have Come Down

 
 
So Moses thought, “I will go over and see this strange sight—why the bush does not burn up.”When the Lord saw that he had gone over to look, God called to him from within the bush,“Moses! Moses!”And Moses said, “Here I am.” “Do not come any closer,” God said. “Take off your sandals, for the place where you are standing is holy ground.” Then he said, “I am the God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob.” At this, Moses hid his face, because he was afraid to look at God.The Lord said, “I have indeed seen the misery of my people in Egypt. I have heard them crying out because of their slave drivers, and I am concerned about their suffering. So I have come down to rescue them from the hand of the Egyptians and to bring them up out of that land into a good and spacious land, a land flowing with milk and honey —the home of the Canaanites, Hittites, Amorites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites. And now the cry of the Israelites has reached me, and I have seen the way the Egyptians are oppressing them. Exodus:3:3-9
 
Since God blessed Abram with land and set him on a journey to find it, we have been journeying in the Land of Father’s Love. We have been exploring the heights, depth, length and width of it (Ephesians 3:14-19). This week I must be in the depths…or maybe it’s the heights. I wanted to write about Moses being on the back side of the desert. Or how seeing a burning bush was common but, one that wasn’t being consumed by fire wasn’t. I wanted to point out  we might have a few doubts if the call of God upon our lives was to topple a VERY powerful nation and take out its ruler and spiritual leader: Pharaoh; just like Moses did. How it’s intimidating enough to speak before such a powerful ruler but, to be slow of speech and do that would take intimidating to a whole new level. But, none of these were satisfying to me. Each point seemed to have something missing. Like it was an incomplete thought. I longed to say more. I was aching to say more. I still am.
 
The ache and longing within my spirit, soul and body comes from not being able to adequately, fully and richly express what it means to me when God comes down. It is beyond comprehension when the Eternal invades time. Life changing comes to mind. Transformational? Yes. I don’t know about you, but God coming down echoes and reverberates deep, deep within me. It stirs a longing for Him. I desire to see Him in the beauty of His holiness(Psalm 27:4). Impossible? No. 1 John 3:2 tells me…when He appears, we shall be like Him, for we shall see Him as He is.
 
Another word comes to mind reading this verse: intimacy. Intimacy can be defined as in-to-me-see. God desires this depth of relationship with us. Oh, how He wants to be known! Yet, there are blocks on our side of this relationship with Him, aren’t there? We think we have to be good enough:perfectionism. Do enough:performance. Be penitent enough: false humility.
Or, we think if He knew about____. He would never love me or want me. Guess what? He is all-knowing and all seeing…He already does! Another time when God came down occurred when Jesus walked the earth. His life, shed blood on the cross and resurrection took care of ALL of it. Jesus Himself stated”It is finished”. Still doubting? Question? What part of Jesus’ blood didn’t cover your________? (Fill in the blank)What part wasn’t enough for_________________? (Fill in the blank).
 
It seems, and I am no scholar, when God comes down our relationship with Him changes. It becomes even more personal…more relational, more intimate. Oh, how He wants to be known!!  When Moses asked God for His name to give the people of Israel, God replied: I AM THAT I AM. God further stated this was the name He was to be remembered by for all generations. He gave Moses a name for Himself He had never given anyone before. I AM.  I AM appeared again several hundred years later, didn’t He? Yeshua, Jesus of Nazareth walked the earth. I AM came down and put on flesh so we could get a glimpse of His beauty, His love, His mercy, His grace, His way to interact with all people…even the annoying ones. Then I AM came again when He sent Holy Spirit. The Ruach Ha-Kodesh(the breath) at Pentecost. I AM is coming down again. When He does, if we are still this side of heaven, we will be like Him, for we will see Him as He is.
 
This week ponder anew the depth, breadth, width, and height of the love of the love of God for you. Note the ways He has “come down” to meet with you. May you be blessed with finding the words inadequate and difficult to come by to express just what that means to you. May you feel the satisfaction of knowing  that that frustration/difficulty is okay.  May you know He hears your heart racing and sees the tears being shed over the joyous anticipation of meeting with Him face to face. May you be blessed to stand, sit, kneel, bow or lay prostrate before Him and say to Him: in-to-me-see. Be blessed in the name of I AM THAT I AM for that is His name.
 
Enjoy the song!
2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Prayer: I Have Come Down

  1. In-to-me-see. I love that. This post reminds me of so many times in my prayer-life when I AM has come down to meet me. One in particular I tell over and over. In my early 20’s,
    I was stranded on a very busy interstate late one night after running out of gas. I asked God to send me a policeman. After repeating this to HIM over and over, I see headlights stopping behind me. A man gets out of a car that resembled a Pinto from the 70’s. God, I asked you for a policeman. I am not talking to this stranger. The man at my window was dressed in a uniform. I cracked my window. “Hello, mam, I’m a UAB security officer on my way to work, do you need my help?” He drove me home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

